List of Anambra State Governors from 1960 till Date with their Political Party


List of Anambra State Governors from 1960 till Date with their Political Party: Anambra State is one of the South-Eastern States of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The state is known as the primary domicile region for the Igbo tribe in Nigeria.

Remember, the country Nigeria have 3 basic tribes which include the Hausa (Northerners, Igbos and the Yorubas).

The need to know the list of past and present governors of Anambra state from the 1960 Independence is crucial; most especially for students and information seekers.

We are however, happy you stumbled on the right page as we shall be looking at the comprehensive list of all past reigning governors of Anambra State and their political parties from 1960.

The below list may also contain list of military government (as the case may be).

See below for full details for List of Anambra State Governors and their Political Party from 1960 till date.

Anambra State Governors from 1960 & Their Political Parties

No Name Title Took Office Left Office Party Notes
1 John Atom Kpera Governor Mar-76 Jul-78 Military
2 Col. Datti Sadiq Abubakar Governor Jul-78 Oct-79 Military
3 Jim Nwobodo Governor Oct-79 Oct-83 NPP
4 Christian Onoh Governor Oct-83 Dec-83 NPN
5 Allison Madueke Governor Jan-84 Aug-85 Military
6 Samson Omeruah Governor Aug-85 Dec-87 Military
7 Robert Akonobi Governor Dec-87 Aug-90 Military
8 Herbert Eze Governor Aug-90 Jan-92 Military
9 Joseph Abulu Administrator 27-Aug-91 Jan-92 Military
10 Chukwuemeka Ezeife Governor 02-Jan-92 17-Nov-93 SDP
11 Dabo Aliyu Acting Administrator Nov-93 Dec-93 Police
12 Mike Attah Administrator 09-Dec-93 21-Aug-96 Military
13 Rufai Garba Administrator 21-Aug-96 06-Aug-98 Military
14 Emmanuel Ukaegbu Administrator 06-Aug-98 29-May-99 Military
15 Chinwoke Mbadinuju Governor 29-May-99 29-May-03 PDP
16 Chris Ngige Governor 29-May-03 17-Mar-06 PDP
17 Peter Obi Governor 17-Mar-06 03-Nov-06 APGA
18 Virginia Etiaba Governor 03-Nov-06 09-Feb-07 APGA Appointed when the previous governor, Peter Obi, was impeached by the state legislature for alleged gross misconduct. She transferred her powers back to Peter Obi three months later when an appeal court nullified the impeachment.
19 Peter Obi Governor 09-Feb-07 17-Mar-14 APGA Emmanuel Nnamdi Uba (Andy Uba) was elected and sworn in as the governor of Anambra State on 27 May 2007. He was removed by a supreme court decision on 14 June 2007. He governed the State for 14 days.
20 Willie Obiano Governor 17-Mar-14 17-Mar-22 APGA Chief Willie Maduabuchukwu Obiano was sworn in on 17 March 2014 as the new governor after the expiration of the Peter Obi second term, haven won 16 November 2013 election. He was reelected for second term on 18 November 2017.
21 Charles Chukwuma Soludo Governor 17-Mar-22 Incumbent APGA Soludo was sworn into office on March 17, 2022.

Who is the Present Governor of Anambra State 2022?

The Present Governor of Anambra State is Charlse Chukwuma Soludo from APGA.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top