List of Imo State Governors from 1960 till Date with their Political Party


List of Imo State Governors from 1960 till Date with their Political Party: Imo State is one of the South-Eastern States of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The state is known as the primary domicile region for the Igbo tribe in Nigeria.

Remember, the country Nigeria have 3 basic tribes which include the Hausa (Northerners, Igbos and the Yorubas).

The need to know the list of past and present governors of Imo state from the 1960 Independence is crucial; most especially for students and information seekers.

We are however, happy you stumbled on the right page as we shall be looking at the comprehensive list of all past reigning governors of Imo State and their political parties from 1960.

The below list may also contain list of military government (as the case may be).

See below for full details for List of Imo State Governors and their Political Party from 1960 till date.

Imo State Governors from 1960 & Their Political Parties

Name Title Took Office Left Office Party Notes
Ndubuisi Kanu Governor Mar-76 1977 Military
Adekunle Lawal Governor 1977 Jul-78 Military
Sunday Ajibade Adenihun Governor Jul-78 Oct-79 Military
Samuel Onunaka Mbakwe Governor 01-Oct-79 31-Dec-83 NPP Nigerian First Republic
Ike Nwachukwu Governor Jan-84 Aug-85 Military
Allison Amakoduna Madueke Governor Aug-85 1986 Military
Amadi Ikwechegh Governor 1986 1990 Military
Anthony E. Oguguo Governor Aug-90 Jan-92 Military
Evan Enwerem Governor Jan-92 Nov-93 NRC Nigerian Second Republic
James N.J. Aneke Administrator 09-Dec-93 22-Aug-96 Military
Tanko Zubairu Administrator 22-Aug-96 May-99 Military
Achike Udenwa Governor 29-May-99 29-May-07 PDP N
Ikedi G. Ohakim Governor 29-May-07 29-May-11 PPA / PDP
Owelle Rochas Anayo Okorocha Governor 29-May-11 29-May-19 APC
Emeka Ihedioha Governor 29-May-19 15-Jan-20 PDP
Hope Uzodinma Governor 15-Jan-20 Incumbent APC

Who is the Present Governor of Imo State 2022?

The Present Governor of Imo State is Hope Uzodinma from All Progressive Congress (APC).

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top