List of Kano State Governors from 1960 till Date with their Political Party


List of Kano State Governors from 1960 till Date with their Political Party: Kano State is one of the North-Western States of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The state is known as the primary domicile region for the Hausa tribe in Nigeria.

Remember, the country Nigeria have 3 basic tribes which include the Hausa (Northerners, Igbos and the Yorubas).

The need to know the list of past and present governors of Kano state from the 1960 Independence is crucial; most especially for students and information seekers.

We are however, happy you stumbled on the right page as we shall be looking at the comprehensive list of all past reigning governors of Kano State and their political parties from 1960.

The below list may also contain list of military government (as the case may be).

See below for full details for List of Kano State Governors and their Political Party from 1960 till date.

Kano State Governors from 1960 & Their Political Parties

Name Title Took Office Left Office Party Notes
Commissioner of Police, Audu Bako Governor May-67 Jul-75 Military
Colonel Sani Bello Military Governor Jul-75 Sep-78 Military
Group Captain Ishaya Shekari Military Governor Sep-78 Oct-79 Military
Alhaji Muhammadu Abubakar Rimi Governor Oct-79 May-83 PRP
Alhaji Abdu Dawakin Tofa Governor May-83 Oct-83 PRP
Alhaji Sabo Bakin Zuwo Governor Oct-83 Dec-83 PRP
Air Commodore Hamza Abdullahi Governor Jan-84 Aug-85 Military Governor
Colonel. Ahmed Muhammad Daku Military Governor Aug-85 1987 Military
Group Captain Mohammed Ndatsu Umaru Military Governor Dec-87 27-Jul-88 Military
Colonel Idris Garba Military Governor Aug-88 Jan-92 Military
Architect Kabiru Ibrahim Gaya Governor Jan-92 Nov-93 NRC
Colonel Muhammadu Abdullahi Wase Military Administrator Dec-93 Jun-96 Military
Colonel Dominic Oneya Military Administrator Aug-96 Sep-98 Military
Colonel Aminu Isa Kontagora Military Administrator Sep-98 May-99 Military
Engineer (Dr.) Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso Governor May-99 May-03 PDP
Malam Ibrahim Shekarau Governor May-03 May-11 ANPP
Engineer (Dr.) Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso Governor May-11 May-15 PDP
Abdullahi Umar Ganduje Governor May-15 Incumbent APC

Who is the Present Governor of Kano State 2022?

The Present Governor of Kano State is Abdullahi Umar Ganduje from All Progressive Congress (APC).

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top