List of Lagos State Governors from 1960 till Date with their Political Party


List of Lagos State Governors from 1960 till Date with their Political Party: Lagos State is one of the South-Western States of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The state is known as the primary domicile region for the Yoruba tribe in Nigeria.

Remember, the country Nigeria have 3 basic tribes which include the Hausa (Northerners, Igbos and the Yorubas).

The need to know the list of past and present governors of Lagos state from the 1960 Independence is crucial; most especially for students and information seekers.

We are however, happy you stumbled on the right page as we shall be looking at the comprehensive list of all past reigning governors of Lagos State and their political parties from 1960.

The below list may also contain list of military government (as the case may be).

See below for full details for List of Lagos State Governors and their Political Party from 1960 till date.

Lagos State Governors from 1960 & Their Political Parties

Name Title Took Office Left Office Party Notes
Brigadier Mobolaji Johnson[1] Governor 27-May-67 Jul-75 Military  
Commodore Adekunle Lawal[1] Governor Jul-75 1977 Military  
Commodore Ndubuisi Kanu[1] Governor 1977 Jul-78 Military  
Commodore Ebitu Ukiwe[1] Governor Jul-78 Oct-79 Military  
Alhaji Lateef Jakande[1] Governor Oct-79 Dec-83 Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN)  
Air Commodore Gbolahan Mudasiru[1] Governor Jan-84 Aug-86 Military  
Navy Captain Mike Akhigbe[1] Governor Aug-86 Jul-88 Military  
Brigadier General Raji Rasaki[1] Governor Jul-88 Jan-92 Military  
Sir Michael Otedola[1] Governor Jan-92 Nov-93 National Republican Convention (NRC)  
Colonel Olagunsoye Oyinlola[1] Governor 09-Dec-93 22-Aug-96 Military  
Colonel Mohammed Buba Marwa[1] Governor 22-Aug-96 29-May-99 Military  
Asiwaju Bola Tinubu[1][2] Governor 29-May-99 29-May-07 Alliance for Democracy (AD)  
Mr Babatunde Fashola Governor 29-May-07 29-May-15 Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN)  
Mr Akinwunmi Ambode Governor 29-May-15 29-May-19 All Progressives Congress (APC)  
Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu Governor 29-May-19 Incumbent All Progressives Congress (APC)  

Who is the Present Governor of Lagos State 2022?

The Present Governor of Lagos State is Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu from All Progressive Congress (APC).

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top