List of Oyo State Governors from 1960 till Date with their Political Party

List of Oyo State Governors from 1960 till Date with their Political Party: Oyo State is one of the South-Western States of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The state is known as the primary domicile region for the Yoruba tribe in Nigeria.

Remember, the country Nigeria have 3 basic tribes which include the Hausa (Northerners, Igbos and the Yorubas).

The need to know the list of past and present governors of Oyo state from the 1960 Independence is crucial; most especially for students and information seekers.

We are however, happy you stumbled on the right page as we shall be looking at the comprehensive list of all past reigning governors of Oyo State and their political parties from 1960.

The below list may also contain list of military government (as the case may be).

See below for full details for List of Oyo State Governors and their Political Party from 1960 till date.

Oyo State Governors from 1960 & Their Political Parties

Name Title Took Office Left Office Party Notes
Col. David Jemibewon Governor Mar-76 Jul-78 Military  
Col. Paul Tarfa Governor Jul-78 Oct-79 Military  
Chief Bola Ige Executive Governor 01-Oct-79 01-Oct-83 Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN)  
Dr. Victor Omololu Olunloyo Executive Governor 01-Oct-83 31-Dec-83 National Party of Nigeria (NPN)  
Lt. Col. Oladayo Popoola Governor 04-Jan-84 Sep-85 Military  
Col. Adetunji Idowu Olurin Governor Sep-85 Jul-88 Military  
Col. Sasaenia Oresanya Governor 27-Jul-88 Aug-90 Military  
Col. Abdulkareem Adisa Governor 03-Sep-90 Jan-92 Military  
Chief Kolapo Olawuyi Ishola Executive Governor 02-Jan-92 17-Nov-93 Social Democratic Party (SDP)  
Navy Capt. Adetoye Oyetola Sode Administrator 09-Dec-93 14-Sep-94 Military  
Col. Chinyere Ike Nwosu Administrator 14-Sep-94 22-Aug-96 Military  
Col. Ahmed Usman Administrator 22-Aug-96 Aug-98 Military  
Comm. Pol. Amen Edore Oyakhire Administrator 16-Aug-98 28-May-99 Military  
Dr. Lam Adesina Governor 29-May-99 28-May-03 Alliance for Democracy (AD)  
Rashidi Adewolu Ladoja Governor 29-May-03 28-May-07 People’s Democratic Party (PDP) Impeached in January 2006, reinstated in December 2006
Christopher Alao-Akala Governor (de facto) 12-Jan-06 07-Dec-06 People’s Democratic Party (PDP) Appointed when Rasheed Ladoja was impeached, until the impeachment was overturned.
Christopher Alao-Akala Governor 29-May-07 29-May-11 People’s Democratic Party (PDP)  
Abiola Ajimobi Governor 29-May-11 29-May-19 Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN)  
Seyi Makinde Governor 29-May-19 Incumbent People’s Democratic Party (PDP)  

Who is the Present Governor of Oyo State 2022?

The Present Governor of Oyo State is Seyi Makinde from People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

Leave a Comment